2000 Bilderberg Meeting Participant List

The following participant list is unofficial and may contain inaccuracies. If you have access to more accurate information regarding any of the Bilderberg Meetings, including official copies of participant lists, please contact us or submit them via our secure online submission form.

Brussels, Belgium
1-3 June 2000

Honorary Chairman:
B Etienne Davignon Chairman, Société Générale de Belgique

Honorary Secretary General:
GB J. Martin Taylor Chairman, WH Smith Group PLC, International Adviser, Goldman Sachs

IAgnelli, Giovanni Honourary Chairman, Fiat S.p.A.
IAgnelli, Umberto Chairman, IFIL - Finanziaria di Partecipazioni S.p.A.
EAguirre y Gil de Biedma, Esperenza President, The Spanish Senate
USAAllaire, Paul Chairman of the Board of Directors and CEO, Xerox Corporation
IAmbrosetti, Alfredo Ambrosetti Group
DKAndersen, Bodil Nyboe Governor, Central Bank of Denmark
CDNAsper, Israel Chairman, CanWest Capital Group Inc.
INTAvery, Graham Chief Adviser for Enlargement, European Community
PBalsemao, Francisco Pinto Professor of Communication Science, New University, Lisbon; Chairman, IMPRESA, S.G.P.S.
SBarnevik, Percy Chairman, Investor AB
NLBenschop, Dick State Secretary for European Affairs
IBernabè, Franco Special Representative of Italy for Reconstruction Initiatives in the Balkans
DBetz, Hans-Georg Visiting Proffessor, European Studies, Centre for European Studies, Columbia and New York Universities
INTBildt, Carl Special Envoy of the Secretary-General for the Balkans, United Nations
CDNBlack, Conrad Chair, Telegraph Group Ltd.
IRLBruton, John Leader of Fine Gael (Opposition Party)
GBBuchanan, Robin W.T. Senior Partner, Bain & Co Inc.
GBClarke, Kenneth Member of Parliament (Conservative)
TRColakoglu, Nuri Chairman and CEO, NTV
FCollomb, Bertrand Chairman and CEO, Lafarge
DCromme, Gerhard Chairman of the Executive Board, Thyssen Krupp AG
GRDavid, George A. Chairman of the Board, Hellenic Bottling Company S.A.
USADeutch, John M. Institute Professor, MIT; Former Director of the Central Intelligence Agency (C.I.A.)
GRDiamandouros, P. Nikiforos National Ombudsman
USADodd, Christopher J. Senator (Democrat, Connecticut)
USADonilon, Thomas E. Senior Vice-President, General Counsel and Secretary, FannieMae
USADyson, Esther Chairman, EDventure Holdings Inc.
INTFréchette, Louise Deputy Secretary-General, United Nations
IFresco, Paolo Chairman, Fiat S.p.A.
CDNFrum, David Columnist, National Post Newspaper
PGouveia, Teresa Patrício Member of Parliament (PSD)
USAGraham, Donald E. Publisher, The Washington Post
USAHagel, Chuck Senator (Republican, Nebraska)
NLHalberstadt, Victor Professor of Economics, Leiden University; Former Honorary Secretary-General of Bilderberg Meetings
NHambro, Christian Director-General, Research Council of Norway
AHampel, Erich Chairman, Creditanstalt-Bankverein
USAHutchison, Kay Bailey Senator (Republican, Texas)
BHuyghebaert, Jan Chairman, Almanij NV
BJanssen, Daniel E. Chairman, Solvay SA
SJohansson, Leif President and CEO, Volvo AB
USA Johnson, James A. Chairman and CEO, Johnson Capital Partners
USA Jordan Jr, Vernon E. Managing Director, Lazard Frères & Co. LLC
TR Kayhan, Muharrem Vice-Chairman of the Board, Söktas, Former President, Tusiad
USA Kissinger, Henry A. Chairman, Kissinger Associates Inc.
D Kopper, Hilmar Chairman of the Supervisory Board, Deutsche Bank AG
USA Kravis, Henry R. Founding Partner, Kohlberg Kravis Roberts & Co.
USA Kravis, Marie-Josée Senior Fellow, Hudson Institute Inc.
INT Lamy, Pascal Commissioner, European Commission
F Lévy-Lang, André Former Chairman, Paribas
B Lippens, Maurice Chairman, FORTIS Bank
FIN Lipponen, Paavo Prime Minister
USA Mathews, Jessica T. President, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace
USA McDonough, William J. President, Federal Reserve Bank of New York
F Montbrial, Thierry de Director, French Institure of International Relations
INT Moore, Mike Director-General, WTO
D Nass, Matthias Deputy Editor, Die Zeit
NLQueen BeatrixHer Majesty the Queen of the Netherlands and of the House of Orange
FIN Ollila, Jorma Chairman of the Board and CEO, Nokia Corporation
INT Padoa-Schioppa, Tommaso Member of the Executive Board, European Central Bank
S Pagrotsky, Leif Minister of Trade
GR Papandreou, George A. Minister for Foreign Affairs
S Petersson, Lars-Eric President and CEO, Skandia
A Petritsch, Wolfgang The High Representative for Bosnia and Herzegovina; EU chief negotiator at the Kosovo peace talks in Rambouillet and Paris
CH Pury, David de Chairman, de Pury Pictet Turrettini & Co Ltd.
DK Rasmussen, Anders Fogh Chairman, Liberal Party
N Reiten, Eivind Executive Vice-President, Corporate Management, Norsk Hydro SA
USA Richardson, Bill Secretary of Energy
I Riotta, Gianni Deputy Editor, La Stampa
USA Rockefeller, David Chairman, Chase Manhattan Bank International Advisory Council
E Rodriguez Inciarte, Matías Executive Vice Chairman, BSCH
GB Roll, Eric Senior Adviser, UBS Warburg
I Ruggiero, Renato Vice-Chairman, Schroder Salomon Smith Barney; Chairman, Schroder Salomon Smith Barney Italy
A Scholten, Rudolf Member of the Board of Executive Directors, Oesterreichische Kontrollbank AG
B Schoutheete de Tervarent, Ph. de Former Permanant Representative of Belgium to the EU
DK Seidenfaden, Toger Editor-in-Chief, Politiken
INT Solana Madariaga, Javier Secretary General, Council of the European Union
USA Soros, George Chairman, Soros Fund Management
USA Steinberg, James B. Deputy Assistant to the President for National Security Affairs
F Strauss-Kahn, Dominique Former Minister of Finance; Professor, University of Paris
KS Surroi, Veton Publisher, KOHA Ditore
IRL Sutherland, Peter D. Chairman, Goldman Sachs International; Chairman, BP Amoco PLC
USA Tarullo, Daniel K. Visiting Profesor of Law, Georgetown University Law centre
USA Thornton, John L. President and CEO, Goldman Sachs Group Inc.
I Tremonti, Giulio Member of the Finance Commission, Chamber of Deputies
F Trichet, Jean-Claude Governor, Banque de France
CH Vasella, Daniel L. Chairman and CEO, Novartis AG
NL Veer, Jeroen van der Group managing director, Royal Dutch/Shell group of companies; designate President of Royal Dutch Petroleum Company
USA Vink, Lodewijk J. R. de Chairman, President and CEO, Warner-Lambert Company
A Vranitzky, Franz Former Federal Chancellor
S Wallenberg, Jacob Chairman of the Board, Skandinaviska Enskilda Banken
GB Wolf, Martin Associated Editor/Economics Commentator
INT/USA Wolfensohn, James D. President, The World Bank
D Wolff von Amerongen, Otto Chairman and CEO of Otto Wolff GmbH
USA Wolfowitz, Paul Dean, Nitze School of Advanced International Studies, The John Hopkins University
GB Mickelthwait, R. John United States Editor, The Economist
GB Wooldridge, Adrian D. Foreign Correspondent, The Economist

* Member of the Steering Committee
** Member of the Advisory Group


June 1-4, 2000 – Hotel Chateau du Lac at Genval, Belgium

US Elections


New Economy

The Balkans

EU Enlargement

The European Far Right

Share this: